My Semester

Going through a rough semester could feel like it will never end. But, when it does, I somehow feel just as unprepared. This seems especially true for me this spring semester, seeing as how it’s my final semester of my academic career.

I have learned a lot about myself throughout this extraordinary period in my life. Some teachers put me through hell, but they all truly cared about me and my education. I was able to accomplish much more than I had ever expected.

As difficult as it is to balance work, school, and social lives during college, I decided to really challenge myself this past semester. I did this by proposing to my fiancee on November 16, 2016, to be married on May 27, this year, and moving into my new apartment on May 2, 2017, (a day before a major final exam, which was administered at 8:00 AM the next morning, and I needed to do well on.) I first began studying for this final exam sometime around midnight that night. Needless to say, I didn’t get much sleep; I slept a solid 3 hours before needing to wake up and drive myself to Whitewater to take the exam. I was shocked to later see that my grade on this exam was 100%! Don’t ask me my secret; I have no clue how I managed to receive this perfect score.

This time around, my semester has been, by far, the hardest semester I have ever endured, but I made it through. I couldn’t have done it without my amazing fiancee, my family and friends, and the great faculty and staff and my fellow students at UW-W. And, of course, the local coffee shops in Whitewater (The Sweet Spot), and Janesville (Mocha Moment). Thanks to everyone who was there for me through it all. I wouldn’t change a thing if I could.

Author: benhanus

I'm a student at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater graduating in May, 2017 with a degree in Marketing. I'm pursuing a career in marketing or finance. I'm engaged to be married after graduation to the love of my life. I enjoy music, photography, food, traveling, and spending time with my friends and family.

Leave a Reply

